Terror and Exhilaration


Terror and exhilaration consume you when you are about to launch a book. These emotions can be so extreme that they can easily trick you into procrastination through the guise and excuse of “I’m learning to market.” Right now I am learning to market, and so I bought Write to Market: Deliver a Book That Sells. This book was helpful in quelling some of my terror because I found that yes, my new fantasy series The Saga of the Dragon Born is still a hot category. It also has prevented me from making a huge mistake: writing the wrong sort of blurb. Readers are loving capable, kick-ass female characters. Now my new book Foreshadow: Book One of the Saga of the Dragon Born has exactly that sort of character, and the members of my writing group tell me they like her the best of my main characters. So I have to showcase feisty Burta in my blurb about my book, not gentle, sweet natured Tristabé-airta. Great stuff, to learn, huh? I think I need a least a week or two to suck all the marrow out of Writing to Market. I’ve bought another of Chris Fox’s books, Write to Launch. I expect that will be good for another few weeks of researching how to market. Don’t think I’m procrastinating though. I’m learning important lessons, and I’ll get Foreshadow up on Kindle soon, after learning to market, in a few weeks, not to long from now, when terror of not having put it up there on Amazon already sets me to leaping out of bed shrieking that I’m wasting my life. Okay, okay, I’ll research faster and publish the book very soon.

About Cynthia Clay

I was judged to be a computer program on Shakespeare at the First Loebner Prize Competition of The Turing Test—a truly science fictional experience. I'm an author who likes to write sf, fantasy, updated versions of old myths.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

