Reading Work in Progress Aloud to Other Writers, A Terrific Aid


Each week I bring three pages of Foreshadow: Book One of the Saga of the Romance of the Dragon-Born to the writer’s workshop I am attending. I read the three pages aloud while the other writers read it. No matter how long I have worked on this book (more than a year) the other writer’s always spot things for me to correct: typo’s, overly repeated words, words that have been capitalized and should not be and thus and such. I too, when I read, find things I want to fix, even to cut. My fellow writers also give me feedback on the story, elements they want more of, what confuses them for the moment, questions about the story that are revealed later (they are hooked!). I also take the story to the writer’s meet-up I attend, though in the writer’s meetup the other writers don’t read along; they just listen. Reading my work aloud to sympathetic yet critical listeners is, I find, one of the best ways to improve my writing. They are sympathetic in that they know how much effort goes into writing and how much courage it takes to risk letting others hear it in its developing stages. They are critical in that they let me know of the errors in the manuscript and if a section works for them or not. It’s an enjoyable and exciting process. I love seeing their reactions, knowing their reactions are a preview to how readers will react when the book is published. It’s exciting to me to see how my work improves so much thanks to their input. Thanks to these writers who are willing to listen to my work, Foreshadow: Book One of the Saga of the Romance of the Dragon-Born is unfolding!

About Cynthia Clay

I was judged to be a computer program on Shakespeare at the First Loebner Prize Competition of The Turing Test—a truly science fictional experience. I'm an author who likes to write sf, fantasy, updated versions of old myths.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

