Extroverted Introvert


My writing workshop instructor was talking to us about “blog personas.” Now this was something that really grabbed my fancy because, well, I don’t think I have one. It seems to me that it would be a good thing to have, a Blog Persona. There are some of us whom psychologists call “extroverted introverts” which means shy people hiding behind a façade of extroversion. Many actors are extroverted introverts; they love to be in the limelight but really are quite introspective and retiring. I’m an extroverted introvert. My first reaction to being asked to write or speak is “What should I say?” “What should I say” and having to talk to strangers can be so worrying, so intimidating that at times, often in my inadequately spent days of green girl years that not knowing, the saying did not get said. The pizza did not get ordered—I’d have to talk to a stranger and what should I say? I’m only going to admit to not ordering pizza on the phone. I’ll leave the other things I couldn’t figure out how to say and the people whom I should have spoken to and did not to your merciful (please?) imagination. I suspect a lot of bloggers must be extroverted introverts. Think of it. You don’t really have to face any stranger and you can say what is in your head and assume no one is going to read it—and if anyone does, they aren’t really real are they? You can’t see all those internet people or hear their voices. So how do you know if any of them are lovers of fantasy sagas? I work on my fantasy Foreshadow: Book One of the Saga of the Dragon-Born anyway.

About Cynthia Clay

I was judged to be a computer program on Shakespeare at the First Loebner Prize Competition of The Turing Test—a truly science fictional experience. I'm an author who likes to write sf, fantasy, updated versions of old myths.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Extroverted Introvert

  1. justinplambert says:

    This is spot-on, Cynthia. (Oh, and sorry for busting the illusion that we internet-readers aren’t real! 🙂 ) I’m horribly awkward and quiet in a one-on-one situation with someone I don’t know, and have become very adept at disappearing in a crowd. But online, I’m working to push my stuff in front of as many eyes as possible because there’s a level of invisibility and anonymity to it that allows a comfort level, even though I consciously realize that invisibility is exactly what I’m trying to avoid. Oddly enough, despite what I just said, public speaking has never been a problem to me, and I don’t understand the concept of stagefright. I guess I’m like one of those actors you mentioned.

Leave a Reply

