On Bananas


My writing workshop teacher was in one of her food moods (class is at dinner time) and thought bananas would be a good topic to relax us into humorous writing. So this is the bit I wrote about bananas:

Bananas—silent film farces with funny bits about slipping on bananas; the joke about the insulted mother on the bus–the driver promising to get a banana for her monkey; the shape of bananas food for much risqué humor. But bananas are delicious! Though whenever I admire someone’s banana tree my husband ominously intones how the smell of bananas draws snakes. I like my bananas a bit green. In MA, where I grew up, groceries always sell them a bit green, so slightly green bananas are what I got used to eating. My Latin husband laughs at that. So many lovely deserts have bananas. My father for his birthday always wanted banana layer cake, yellow cake iced with meringue and bananas set between the layers and on top, left to sit covered in the fridge overnight so the flavors could “swap” as my mother described it. Then there are banana boats and banana hot fudge Sundays, bananas dipped in chocolate and frozen, bananas with hot fudge and nuts, bananas with peanut butter…

Bananas are a good food to eat while writing. If you become engrossed in your work, the banana does not get too cold or too hot because it was room temperature to begin with. Yes, a banana sprawling out of its peel sits on my desk while I work on my fantasy, Foreshadow: Book One of The Saga of Draon-Born. Isn’t that sneaky how I slipped in my fantasy with bananas?

About Cynthia Clay

I was judged to be a computer program on Shakespeare at the First Loebner Prize Competition of The Turing Test—a truly science fictional experience. I'm an author who likes to write sf, fantasy, updated versions of old myths.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

