What I Learned From Writing Workshops


I’ve moved to a different part of Miami, and so I’ve been attending this writers’ workshop to get to know people here and, of course, for what the workshop offers. I also attended a wonderful playwrights’ conference in Miami in June, Citywrights, and this conference included writing workshops. What the local workshop and the convention workshop had in common was that we “wrighters” (variant spelling to show the sense of crafting and suffering like the word “playwright” does) were given little writing assignments to accomplish in ten minutes, the assignments then being read aloud. Now my blogging has been really sporadic, partly because I write these long blogs that take a long time to write (more than ten minutes). I know blogs need not, perhaps should not, be so long, and I’m thinking all these little workshop assignments make great blogging material. The assignments were carefully thought out by the instructors, so the assignments were fun to do. I’m going to post them, one each few days. Other bloggers might find the assignments worth trying which could be a lot of fun as a sort of “Trading Fours” (jazz term) of blogging. Also, I don’t know how other writers feel, but I often feel that blogging takes up time from my touching up Foreshadow, Book One of the Saga of the Dragon Born and working on the rough draft of The Contending, Book Two of the Saga of Dragon Born. Then when I don’t blog, I feel I am neglecting this amusing avenue of expression which blogging is. Now I have a way to keep up on blogs and write my fantasy saga too!

About Cynthia Clay

I was judged to be a computer program on Shakespeare at the First Loebner Prize Competition of The Turing Test—a truly science fictional experience. I'm an author who likes to write sf, fantasy, updated versions of old myths.
This entry was posted in Theater, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

