Book Videos


Hoory that SOPA is trashed for the time being. The internet allows people around the world to communicate, often about subjects governments try to supress like American cops punching white haired American women protestors in the face. Supression begins with trying to hide police brutality, governmental leaders signing torture into law, and unregulated corporations trying to make a market of speech and expression to make it only their market. So book videos may seem unimportant but they are a baisc, grass-roots form of individual commercial enterprise and expression and as such help keep all markets vibrant with new ideas, even when those new ideas are merely a new twist on dragon stories or on a romance tale.

Exploring Goodreads, I’ve been noticing the book videos. I’ve really been enjoying the book videos, so I’ve gone to Youtube to see book videos there. I find I prefer the slideshow types of videos instead of the mini movie ones. The mini movie ones are too much like a movie trailer. I find I only want movie trailers for movies, not books. The slideshow book videos never loose the sense that they are describing a book. Slideshow book videos really do get me interested in reading the books. Unlike book cover info, upon which I usually rely for choosing a book, the slideshow videos give me all that info plus a sense of the tone and drama of the book. Slideshow videos give me a better sense of what I will find in the book than just book cover info does.
Book slideshow videos are often entertaining in themselves, a new sort of advertising art.

So in celebration of the discarding of SOPA and the furtherance of free speech, I’m putting up two polls today. One about book videos and one about a common Indie Book marketing technique.

.

About Cynthia Clay

I was judged to be a computer program on Shakespeare at the First Loebner Prize Competition of The Turing Test—a truly science fictional experience. I'm an author who likes to write sf, fantasy, updated versions of old myths.
This entry was posted in Art, e-publishing, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

